Award Season is upon us again

The Golden Globes nominations were made today by Jessica Beil, Rosario Dawson, and Matthew Perry. The big winners today were The Departed which garnered 6 nominations with Dreamsgirls following with five. For TV shows both Weeds and Grey’s Anatomy received the most nods with 4 a piece.  Helen Mirren lead the pack, for actors/actresses, with three nominations while Leonardo DiCaprio and Chiwelel Ejiofor followed with 2.

The Departed, a remake of the Hong Kong thriller Internal Affairs, was nominated for best drama, best director (Martin Scorsese) and it gave Leo one of his two best actor nominations. Jack Nicholson got a best supporting actor in a motion picture drama nomination plus William Monahan got one for the movie’s screenplay. Helen Mirren was the most nominated actor or actress. Her portrayal of HRH Queen Elizabeth in Stephen Frear’s The Queen garnered her a best actress in a motion picture nod; while her second and third were for roles in mini-series or made for television movie. It was her portrayal of Elizabeth I and her return to detective Jane Tennison in Prime Suspect: The final act that spurred the other nominations.

Aside from being nominated for best television comedy-musical series, Weeds star Mary-Louise Parker was nominated, for the second year in a row, for her portrayal of Nancy Botwin in the Showtime comedy. Last year, she was the only non-Desperate Housewife to be nominated for the award of best actress in a comedy-musical and won. This year, like last, her co-star Elizabeth Perkins is nominated for best supporting actress but unlike in 2006 Weed’s this year is also Justin Kirk up best supporting actor as Justin Botwin.

Grey’s Anatomy is new to the Golden Globes receiving nominations for drama television series, best actor in a drama – Patrick Dempsey, Ellen Pompeo is up for best actress, and Katherine Heigl is up for best supporting actress.

Beyonce Knowles received a Golden Globe nomination for the portrayal of Deena Jones, with Dreamgirls receiving a total of five including Best comedy-musical motion picture and best original song – Listen. Plus best supporting actor nomination for Eddie Murphy’s portrayal of James “Thunder” Early, and for Jennifer Hudson’s role of Effie White.

This year the Hollywood Foreign Press Association added the best-animated film category to the awards ceremony and they have chosen Warren Beatty as the recipient of their distinguished Cecil B. DeMille award. The awards show will be aired live on NBC, January 15th.


There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: